The John Rex Endowment is governed by the Board of Directors. Members of the board bring a range of perspectives and experience from the business, education, finance, healthcare, and nonprofit community. The foundation president serves as an ex-officio member. 

The diverse leadership sets the John Rex Endowment’s mission, monitors the impact of the organization, provides broad direction and ensures its development and growth. The Board of Directors performs its duties through committees that include the Executive Committee, Finance and Audit Committee, Grants Review Committee and Nominating Committee. Each director serves two three-year terms and serves on at least one committee.


Chair - Matt Leatherman, Director, FCLT Global
Vice-chair - LaTasha Winstead, Senior Customer Success Manager, Unite Us
Treasurer - Kate Simpson, Vice President, TrueBridge Capital Partners
Secretary - Heather Denny, Managing Partner, Wells Global


Craig Croom, Special Superior Court Judge
Libby George, Director of Investments, NC State University
Bryan Lewis, Vice President and CIO, United States Steel Corp.
Tyran Hill, Program Officer, NC Community Foundation
Warren Ludwig, Ph.D., Consultant for child welfare and mental health issues
Kellan Moore, President and CEO, John Rex Endowment
John Rusher, M.D., Pediatrician, Raleigh Pediatric Associates
Andrew (Andy) Zukowski, Chief Financial Officer, UNC Rex Healthcare

Former Chairs

Thank you to these visionary individuals whose passion and commitment to the citizens of Wake County has shepherded the John Rex Endowment over the years: 

Jimmy Talton
Linda Butler, M.D.
Jill Wright, M.D.
Sherry Worth
Robert Rader, Judge
Leah Devlin, D.D.S.
Ben Bradsher
David Boerner, M.D.
Ann Goodnight
James Maynard